HMH Maestro

Leadership Announcements

Four HMH Hospitals Receive Healthgrades 2019 Patient Safety Excellence Award

All Locations

What you need to know

Bayshore Medical Center, JFK Medical Center, Ocean Medical Center and Riverview Medical Center received the Healthgrades 2019 Patient Safety Excellence Award.

This distinction places Hackensack Meridian Health hospitals among the top 5/10 percent of all short-term acute care hospitals reporting patient safety data as evaluated by Healthgrades, the leading online resource for information about physicians and hospitals.

More details on the study

During the study period from 2015 to 2017, Healthgrades 2019 Patient Safety Excellence Award recipient hospitals demonstrated excellent performance in safety provided for patients in the Medicare population, as measured by objective outcomes (risk-adjusted patient safety indicator rates) for 14 patient safety indicators defined by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

Healthgrades found that patients treated in hospitals receiving the Patient Safety Excellence Award were, as compared to patients at non-recipients hospitals, on average*:

This is the third year in a row that Bayshore Medical Center and Ocean Medical Center received this award, and the first year JFK Medical Center and Riverview Medical Center is receiving this award. Click here to view the Healthgrades hospital quality methodologies.

*Statistics are calculated from Healthgrades Patient Safety Ratings and Excellence Award methodology which is based primarily on AHRQ technical specifications (Version 5e and 2018) to MedPAR data for years 2015 through 2017 and represent 3-year estimates for Medicare patients only.